Oxford Bus Company

The Oxford Bus Company Blog

Taking Five on Friday: Field Duty Manager Paul!

Leave a comment

Five-on-a-Friday-Paul
Did you know that Oxford Bus Company is one of Oxford’s largest employers with over 600 members of staff? Each Friday we ask an employee 5 questions to find out what it’s like to work here at OBC…

1) So Paul, what do you do at Oxford Bus?
I am the Field Duty Manager. This means that I am out and about in the city and surrounding areas all of the time. I liase with local authorities and attend meetings on roadworks and events. I am the drivers point of contact if they have any issues out on the network, and I attend incidents as they happen. I am also responsible for ensuring the monitoring of 5% of all our City services, a legal requirement for the Traffic Commissioner.

2) Which bus/coach service do you use the most?
Well, I like to go with my family to spend the occasional day in London, meeting friends, shopping or seeing a show, but I use many services on a daily basis to get around the city.

3) What is the one essential item you need when waiting at a bus stop?
To have your pass or money ready, to help speed up loading!

4) What is your favourite thing to do in Oxford or best place to visit?
Oxford has so much history. There are lots of colleges and museums to discover. But I just like to look around as I walk amongst all the architecture, I feel privileged to work here. Also there are lots of free lectures in the University in the evenings that we sometimes attend – they are really interesting!!

5) What is the best thing about working at Oxford Bus
It has to be the people – they make a company what it is, and I enjoy the interaction with everybody day to day. Plus, you never know what will happen next, and that’s why I love it!

Leave a Reply

