Oxford Bus Company

The Oxford Bus Company Blog

Taking Five On Friday: Phil Southall, our Operations Director.

Leave a comment

Five-on-a-Friday---Phil

Did you know that Oxford Bus Company is one of Oxford’s largest employers with over 600 members of staff? Each Friday we ask an employee 5 questions to find out what it’s like to work here at OBC. This week we spoke to Operations Director, Phil Southall.

Staff member name: Phil Southall
I’ve worked at Oxford Bus Company for.. I’ve worked for Oxford Bus Company for nearly two years but I worked for our sister company Go North East previously so I have been with Go-Ahead Group for 7.5 years.

1) What do you do at Oxford Bus?

I am the Operations Director and look after all the operational, commercial and stakeholder functions of the business.

2) Which bus/coach service do you use the most?

I live in Kidlington, so I use city2 the most but I also frequently use the excellent X90 service to go about the business I have in London.

3) What is the one essential item you need when waiting at a bus stop?

For me it is my industry magazines and The Oxford Mail to keep up with all the latest information within the industry and the City generally. Apart from that my i-phone ranks pretty highly!

4) What is your favorite thing to do in Oxford or best place to visit?

I love going to the Creation Theatre shows when they are on as they are pretty unique and engaging. You also can’t beat a good meal and drink at one of the many historic public houses in the city centre.

5) What is the best thing about working at Oxford Bus Company?

That’s an easy one. It is taking a step back and seeing what a fantastic team of people I have working for me, both on the front line driving and supervising our services and behind the scenes at our Head Office making it all work and delighting our customers. Nothing pleases me more than seeing a happy face whilst doing it all too!

Leave a Reply

